What’s Your Love Language

Have you ever had an experience where an act of affection on your part went unnoticed or even unappreciated by another? Or perhaps you’ve been on the other side of this equation…and something someone else has done in hopes of demonstrating affection toward you only served to piss you off?

My lover and I struggled with this one for months when we first got together. He loves to have his ears nibbled, kissed, blown into, etc. I, on the other hand, can’t stand it! Despite my constant reminders that having my ears touched is actually a turn off for me, he constantly reverted back to what he expected me to enjoy…the things that he enjoyed. We also found we have a similar need to be touched. I remember a particular time when he came to visit and when we hugged I touched him in a certain way and he said, “You always know how to touch me.” And I did, however we also had differences in how we wanted to be loved.

This happens a lot in relationships: we expect the other person to think, feel, and react just as we would. This popular misconception can lead to a slew of unfortunate misunderstandings, hurt feelings, even fights! Demonstrating love in the language your partner understand greatly increases the likelihood that your gestures will be well-received.

Gary Chapman’s book “The Five Love Languages” suggests there are five types love languages:

  1. Words of Affirmation

  2. Quality time

  3. Receiving gifts

  4. Acts of service

  5. Physical touch

Chapman also asserts each individual favors one of the five main languages. And, as you might have guessed, the way individuals like to receive love most often mirrors they way they most like to show love.

Do yourself a favor: get clear on what your love language is. Encourage your partner to do the same and then compare notes. An individual whose love language is “Quality Time” might not be moved at all by some fresh-cut flowers, but would love to have you sit down for 30 minutes and ask about his/her day. Likewise, an individual whose love language is “Physical Touch” may melt at receiving a foot massage while the hours you spent cleaning out the garage go virtually unrecognized.

Once you and your partner are familiar with one another’s love languages you can begin to speak and listen in ways that are compatible with one another. Here’s a suggestion, make a list of specific ways you like to give love (e.g. make dinner, go for a hike together, give compliments) and/or receive love (e.g. help me with the housecleaning, receive a foot massage). Compare notes. You might be surprised.

Curated from Lantanagurl

Embrace Goddess Lifestyle

Shop Goddess Coloring Books

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Story

Soulfully Sassy is the creation with the intention to Endlessly Spread Love and Inspiration!
Each of our Products is lovingly hand made to order, with eco-friendly fabrics and Super high-quality inks.

We absolutely love seeing this community  #soulfullysassytribe spread our loving and Inspirational messages just like ripples. Thank you!  Lots of  love!



Copyright © 2021 Soulfully Sassy, All rights reserved.

All texts, concepts and their combinations are the Intellectual and Creative  Property of Ishita Saraiya.

Under no circumstances is permission granted to use the information or graphics contained herein for Professional or Commercial  use without express written consent from the site owner.


If you see Our Work being copied, kindly Notify us via email at:

Sign Up Now & To Stay in Touch and Get Access to FREE Worksheet

Music Credit to Azaleh